Steam Loco Movements 2014
updated Tue 29-Jul-14


UKsteam.info front page
www.uksteam.info

Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


MAINLINE STEAM LOCO MOVEMENTS 2014

This is an unofficial list of booked steam locomotive light engine and ecs movements over Network Rail lines during 2014. The information is provided in good faith, but is NOT comprehensive and is not guaranteed accurate! Such movements quite often run at different times from those booked. Note that light engine and support coach moves on the same day as a related railtour will normally appear on railtour times page. No responsibility is accepted for any errors or omissions.

Comments, updates, corrections (or criticism) are very welcome. Please send by email to: webmaster at uksteam.info. A very special thanks to all those who have contributed information - especially details of planned tours, train times, and updates on main line locomotives. Please keep sending it !

Note: Please do NOT contact train operators for further details on these loco movements. It causes unneccessary additional work for staff and is not welcome.

Note Some movements may not be shown until after the event, at the request of the operator.


|2013|Jan|Feb|Mar |Apr|May|Jun|Jul |Aug|Sep|Oct|Nov |Dec|2015|
|This week|
|Loco locations|

|Steam hauled tours|
|Abbreviations|


     Date      Route Notes
Week 01
Fri 03-Jan 61994: Bury ELR-Crewe [Times] LE
Week 02
Thu 09-Jan 5029:   Bishops Lydeard WSR-Reading-Southall [Times] E+C
Thu 09-Jan 61264: Grosmont NYMR-York-Carnforth [Times]
[Ran as a service train Grosmont-Middlesbrough vice Northern rail dmu]
E+C
Fri 10-Jan 61264: Carnforth-Blackburn-Carnforth-Bury ELR [Times]
[Loaded test run]
E+ECS+D/E+C
Week 03
Sat 18-Jan    
Week 04
Sat 25-Jan    
Week 05
Wed 29-Jan 45699: Carnforth-Settle-Blackburn-Preston-Carnforth [Times] E+ECS
Fri 31-Jan 46229: Shildon-York [Times]
[Dead in tow behind Deltic 55002]
D+E
Week 06
Tue 04-Feb 60019: Southall-Barrow Hill [Times] E+C
Wed 05-Feb 60009+60022: York-Shildon [Times] 2E+C
Wed 05-Feb 46115: Carnforth-Settle-Blackburn-Preston-Carnforth [Times] E+ECS
Week 07
Mon 10-Feb 61264: Bury-Grosmont [Times] E+C
Tue 11-Feb 60019: Barrow Hill-Shildon [Times] E+C
Thu 13-Feb 46115: Carnforth-Settle-Blackburn-Preston-Carnforth [Times] E+ECS
Thu 13-Feb 60007: Grosmont-Shildon [Times] E+C
Sat 15-Feb 44932: Southall-Ilford EMUD [Times] D+E ?
Week 08
Tue 18-Feb 44932: Ilford EMUD-Southall [Times] D+E ?
Week 09
Mon 24-Feb 60009+60022: Shildon-Eaglescliffe-York [Times] 2E+C
Tue 25-Feb 60007: Shildon-Eaglescliffe-York [Times] E+C
Wed 26-Feb 60019: Shildon-Eaglescliffe-York-Crewe HC [Times] E+C
Week 10
Wed 05-Mar 60007: York-Sheringham NNR [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled due to bridge load restrictions]
E+C
Wed 05-Mar 61994: Crewe-Keighley [Times] E+C
Thu 06-Mar 34046: Southall-Stewarts Lane [Times]
34046+35028: Stewarts Lane-Ropley
E+C/2E+2C
Thu 06-Mar 60007: York-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 11
Tue 11-Mar 34046+35028: Ropley-Stewarts Lane [Times]
[Revised date from 10-Mar]
E+C
Thu 13-Mar 60007: Sheringham NNR-Southall [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Thu 13-Mar 45231: East Grinstead-Southall [Times] E+C
Fri 14-Mar 44871: Castleton-Southall [Times] E+C
Sat 15-Mar 35028: Stewarts Lane-Ilford - D+E ?
Week 12
Mon 17-Mar 62005: Carnforth-York NRM {provisional} [Times] E+C
Tue 18-Mar 61994: Keighley KWVR-York NRM [Times] E+C
Tue 18-Mar 35028: Ilford-Stewarts Lane (provisional) [Times] D+E ?
Thu 20-Mar 34046: Ropley MHR-Southall [Times] E+C
Sat 22-Mar 34046: Southall-Hornsey EMUD [Times] D+E+ECS
Week 13
Mon 24-Mar 34046: Ferme Park-Southall [Times] D+E+ECS
Fri 28-Mar 61264: Grosmont-Heaton [Times] E+C
Fri 28-Mar 62005: York-Heaton [Times] D+E+ECS
Sat 29-Mar 34046: Folkestone Central-Southall [Times] E+ECS
Sun 30-Mar 46115: York-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Week 14
Thu 03-Apr 60163: Barrow Hill-Didcot [Times] D+E+C
Thu 03-Apr 60007: Southall-Didcot [Times] E+C
Sat 05-Apr 45407: Warrington BQ-Castleton [Times] E+C
Week 15
Tue 08-Apr 60163: Didcot-Southall [Times] D+E+C
Wed 09-Apr 61994: York-Bury [Times] E+C
Thu 10-Apr 45407: Bury-Bristol [Times] E+C
Sun 13-Apr 44871+45407: Bury-Grosmont [Times] 2E+C
Week 16
Fri 18-Apr 46233: Butterley-Derby [Times] E+C
Sat 19-Apr 46233: Ferryhill-York NRM [Times] E+C
Week 17
Tue 22-Apr 60019: Crewe-Grosmont [Times] E+C
Tue 22-Apr 34046: Southall-Greenford-Southall [Times] LE
Tue 22-Apr 5029: Southall-Didcot-Southall [Times] E+2C
Thu 24-Apr 34067: Southall-Didcot-Southall [Times] E+C+D
Thu 24-Apr 60009: York-Carlisle-Boness [Times] E+C
Fri 25-Apr 5029+34046: (tbc) Southall-Greenford-Southall [Times] LE
Sat 26-Apr 5029+44932: Southall-Bristol [Revised Times]
5029: Bristol-Exeter-Plymouth
5029+34046: Plymouth-Par
D+2E+C
D+E+C/E+C/LE
2E+2C
Week 18
Mon 28-Apr 34046: Bristol-Southall [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Mon 28-Apr 46233: York-Gascoigne Wood-York [Times] E+C
Tue 29-Apr 44871+45407: Grosmont-Edinburgh Portobello [Times] 2E+C
Wed 30-Apr 62005: Grosmont-Edinburgh Joppa Straight [Times] E+C
Thu 01-May 44871+45407: Cadder Yd-Perth-Inverness [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled following derailment in Cadder Yard]
2E+C
Fri 02-May 44871+45407: Cadder Yd-Carlisle-Bolton-Bury [Times] 2E+C
Sun 04-May 62005: Edinburgh Joppa-Fort William [Times] E+C
Week 19
Fri 09-May 5043: Tyseley-Plymouth [Times] E+C
Fri 09-May 45231: Carnforth-Fort William [Times]
[45231 failed at Shap]
E+ECS
Sun 11-May 45231: Shap Summit-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C
Week 20
Wed 14-May 60163: Southall-Derby - E+C
Thu 15-May 4936: Kidderminster SVR-Minehead WSR [Times] E+C
Fri 16-May 45699: Carnforth-Skegness [Times] D+ECS+E
Fri 16-May 34067: Southall-Greenford-Southall [Times] D+ECS+E
Week 21
Mon 19-May 34046: Bristol-Salisbury-Southall [Times] D+E+ECS
Mon 19-May 5972: York-Carnforth [Times] D+E
Tue 20-May 48151: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Tue 20-May 45231: (TBC) Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Thu 22-May 60019: Grosmont-Leeming Bar [Times] E+C
Fri 23-May 34067 60009: Southall-Northampton-Kidderminster [Revised Times] D+E+ECS
Fri 23-May 45231: Carnforth-Fort William [Times] E+C
Sun 25-May 34067 60009: Bristol-Swindon-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 22
Wed 28-May 60019: Leeming Bar-Rugby - [CANCELLED] E+C
Wed 28-May 44932: Carnforth-Rugby [Times] E+C
Thu 29-May 44932 48151+45699+46115: Carnforth-Dereham [Times] 3E+ECS
Sat 31-May 34046: Southall-Ilford EMUD [Times] D+E+C ?
Sat 31-May 44932: Southall-Acton Lane rcp [Times] D+E+ECS
Week 23
Mon 02-Jun 34046: Ilford EMUD-Southall [Times] E+C
Mon 02-Jun 44932 48151+45699+46115: Dereham-Carnforth [Times] 3E+ECS
Thu 05-Jun 34067: Southall-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C
Week 24
Mon 09-Jun 60019: Leeming Bar-Southall [Times] E+C
Wed 11-Jun 60007: Southall-York-Grosmont [Times] E+C
Fri 13-Jun 46233: Butterley-Derby [Times] E+C
Week 25
Sat 21-Jun    
Week 26
Mon 23-Jun 61994: Bury-York [Times] E+C
Tue 24-Jun 60009+61994: York-Dereham [Times] 2E+C
Wed 25-Jun 34016: Alton-Southall [Times]
[34016 dead in tow]
D+E+D
Thu 26-Jun 45407: Fort William-Carnforth (provisional) [o-Times] E+C
Fri 27-Jun 46233: Butterley-Tyseley [Times] E+C
Sat 28-Jun 45407: Carnforth-Hereford-Bristol [Times] E+C
Week 27
Mon 30-Jun 34046: Southall-Badminton-Bristol [Times] E+C
Wed 02-Jul 60009+61994: Dereham-Carnforth [Times]
[Diesel hauled from Newark due to fire risk issue]
E+C
Thu 03-Jul 61994: Carnforth-Bury [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Fri 04-Jul 5972: Carnforth-Tyseley [Times] E+C
Week 28
Mon 07-Jul 5972: Tyseley-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Mon 07-Jul 60163: Crewe-Swanage [Times] D+E+C
Mon 07-Jul 45407: Bristol-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C
Tue 08-Jul 45407: Carnforth-Fort William [Times] E+C
Thu 10-Jul 34016: Southall-Carnforth [Times]
[Terminated at Rugby due to hot box on 34016]
D+E+ECS+D
Thu 10-Jul 34016: Rugby-Carnforth [Times]
[Terminated at Stafford due to hot box on 34016]
D+E+ECS+D
Fri 11-Jul 34016: Stafford-Carnforth [Times] [CANCELLED] D+E+D
Sat 12-Jul 34016: Stafford-Carnforth [Times] D+E+D
Sat 12-Jul 46233: York-Butterley [Times] E+C
Week 29
Mon 14-Jul 46115: Carnforth-York [Times] D+E+ECS
Week 30
Tue 22-Jul 45231: Fort William-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Thu 24-Jul 46233: Butterley-Crewe (provisional) - [CANCELLED] E+C
Fri 25-Jul 45305: Keighley-Crewe (provisional) - [CANCELLED] E+C
Sat 26-Jul 60163: Swanage-Sheffield Park [Times] D+E+C
Week 31
Mon 28-Jul Met 1+5521: LT Rusilip-Ealing Common-Northfields - updated (28/07)
[Steam top and tail]
E+ECS+E
Sat 02-Aug    
Week 32
Tue 05-Aug 60163: East Grinstead-Southall - updated (29/07) D+E+C
Sat 09-Aug    
Week 33
Sat 16-Aug    
Week 34
Sat 23-Aug    
Week 35
Sat 30-Aug    
Week 36
Week 37
Week 38
Week 39
Week 40
Week 41
Week 42
Week 43
Week 44
Week 45
Week 46
Week 47
Week 48
Week 49
Week 50
Week 51
Week 52
Week 53



[Movements in 2015]

[Return to top of page]



Locations of currently operational main line locos as at 02:00 Sun 21-Jul


Site          Locos
Southall (LS) 60019
Southall (WCRC) 44932, 70013
Stewarts Lane 35028
Didcot GWS srm93
Ilford --
Bluebell Rly --
Mid Hants Rly 70000
Eastleigh --
Swanage Rly 60163
Poole --
Yeovil Jc --
Weymouth --
West Somerset Rly 4936
Paignton & Dartmouth Rly --
Bodmin & Wenford Rly --
St Blazey --
Bristol 5029, 34046
Cardiff --
Barry --
Norwich --
Kings Lynn --
North Norfolk Rly --
Mid Norfolk Rly --
Nene Valley Rly --
Tyseley 4965, 5043, 7752, 9600
Severn Valley Rly --
Washwood Heath 61306
Derby --
Crewe 60009
Bury --
Butterley 46233
Barrow Hill --
Carnforth 34067, 45699, 46115, 48151, 61994
Keighley & Worth Valley Rly 45305
Wensleydale Rly --
York NRM 5972
Shildon NRM --
NYMR 60007, 61264
Heaton --
Carlisle --
Thornton --
Boness --
Cadder Yard --
Inverness --
Fort William 44871, 45231, 45407, 62005
Elsewhere 30777


[Return to top of page]
Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this information,
no responsibility can be taken for any errors or omissions.

Comments by email to:webmaster at uksteam.info